Old Admiralty House with Umbrellas
Front façade of the House from The Esplanade.
Detail of main stairs to the house.

Old Admiralty House

Florenz August Carl Bleeser, a postal official and botanist of increasing renown, bought this block and an adjoining one in 1931.

He erected his home on this one and established a small museum on the adjacent one, including designing and planting a garden with unusual trees, palms and orchids in a shadehouse. Bleeser died during World War II and the family did not return to Darwin. His garden existed when Old Admiralty House was moved to this site in 1951. The design, shadehouse and some of the original trees in the garden remain today. The house continued as the home of the most senior naval officer in the north until 1983. It suffered minor damage during Cyclone Tracy and was used as an art gallery and coffee shop until early 1993. The house is a good example of an amended Burnett "B" type tropical house, the grandest of a series of tropical designs by BCG Burnett. It is one of only two "B" type houses remaining in the Central Business District of Darwin.

  • Information


    • Carpark


    Caters for people with sufficient mobility to climb a few steps but who would benefit from fixtures to aid balance. (This includes people using walking frames and mobility aids) Caters for people who use a wheelchair. Caters for people who are deaf or have hearing loss. Caters for people who are blind or have vision loss.

  • Map


    What’s nearby

    What’s nearby

    Explore the NT
    Driving routes Flight paths

Travel deals & offers